Corpora Quadrigemina

Corpora Quadrigemina

Ashley Davidoff MD

CThe Common Vein Copyright 2010


The corpora quadrigemina ( Latin for for “quadruplet bodies”) consist of 4 bodies called colliculi.  The  four colliculi are named supewrior and inferior colliculi and are located on the roof or tectum on the the dorsal aspect of the midbrain. The corpora quadrigemina are reflex centers involving vision and hearing.

The Colliculi in Coronal Section

The T2 weighted MRI in the coronal plane reveals the colliculi of the midbrain (aka quadrigeminal plate) which are part of the midbrain

Courtesy Ashley Davidoff MD copyright 2010 all rights reserved 89742.3kc01.8s