Thalamic Structures

Diencephalon – Thalamic Associated Structures

Ashley Davidoff MD

The Common Vein Copyright 2010



Is the diencephalon is the “interbrain and part of the prosencephalon.  It consists of the the thalami and the thalamic assocated structures including the hypothalamus, epithatlamus, subthalamus (prethalamus) and pretectum.

Cerebrum or Telencephalon – Part of the Forebrain

Crebral Hemispheres and Basal Ganglia

The basic and simplest classification of the brain into forebrain midbrain and hindbrain is shown in this diagram and advanced to a more complex tree using the embryological and evolutionary terminologies. The forebrain consists of the cerebrum also called the prosencephalon, which contains the more advanced form of the brain and the thalamic structures which contain more basic structures. The cerebrum (telencephalon) itself consists of two cerebral hemispheres and paired basal ganglial structures. Each cerebral hemisphere will have gray and white matter distributed in the frontal parietal temporal and occipital lobe, with the basal ganglia being part of the gray matter deep in the cerebral hemispheres. The most important thalamic structures arising from the diencephalons include the thalamus itself and the hypothalamus. The midbrain (mesencepaholon) consists of the tectum tegmentum and cerebral peduncles. The hindbrain has two major branch points based on the evolutionary development. The pons and cerebellum(part of the metencephalon) are grouped and the medulla (part of the myelencephalon is the second branch.

Courtesy Ashley Davidoff MD Copyright 2010 All rights reserved 97686.8s